Will flying missiles drive Jews into the Bozrah “Sheep Fold”?

Mountaintop location of Busheira, or “Bozrah”, with steep drops on all sides except for a single, narrow access.

Micah 2:12-13 reads:

“I will surely assemble all of you, Jacob,

I will surely gather the remnant of Israel.

I will put them together like sheep in the fold;

Like a flock in the midst of its pasture

They will be noisy with men.

“The breaker goes up before them;

They break out, pass through the gate and go out by it.

So their king goes on before them,

And the Lord at their head.” (NASB)

In the King James Version the Hebrew word “Bozrah” (בצרה , botsrah, Strong’s H1223 & H1224) is kept instead of “fold”, as it’s translated in the New American Standard Bible; “Bozrah” means a “fold” for sheep.  It is also a place name in southern Jordan, SE of the Dead Sea, currently the town Busheira in the highlands on the eastern escarpment of the Jordan rift valley .  It is the original location of Edom, the alternate name of Esau.  Bozrah is first referenced in the Bible as the abode of Esau’s grandson in Genesis 36:33.

This Micah 2 passage is popular with ‘End Times’ prophecy teachers – in it they see Israel in the last days of this age being gathered by the Lord in the desert where they are then freed (“the breaker goes up before them”)  by the returning Messiah.  It is often linked with this clear Messianic passage in Isaiah 63, since it too mentions Bozrah:

“Who is this who comes from Edom,

With garments of glowing colors from Bozrah,

This One who is majestic in His apparel,

Marching in the greatness of His strength?

“It is I who speak in righteousness, mighty to save.

Why is Your apparel red,

And Your garments like the one who treads in the wine press?

“ I have trodden the wine trough alone,

And from the peoples there was no man with Me.

I also trod them in My anger

And trampled them in My wrath;

And their lifeblood is sprinkled on My garments,

And I stained all My raiment.

“For the day of vengeance was in My heart,

And My year of redemption has come.

“I looked, and there was no one to help,

And I was astonished and there was no one to uphold;

So My own arm brought salvation to Me,

And My wrath upheld Me

This passage, along with Zechariah 14:3,4, “Then the Lord will go forth and fight against those nations, as when He fights on a day of battle. In that day His feet will stand on the Mount of Olives, which is in front of Jerusalem on the east”, foresees Yeshua the Messiah returning to vanquish the enemies who have invaded Israel and besieged Jerusalem, but what of this mention of coming from “Edom” and “Bozrah” before arriving in Jerusalem?  One scenario has Yeshua setting free His people who have taken refuge in (or perhaps been cornered in ??) Bozrah, just prior to His appearance on the Mt. of Olives.

A question arises with this particular understanding of these Bozrah passages – what device moves millions of Jews into the wilderness of southern Jordan?  The following might be one possibility, which several Israeli news outlets have been reporting:

Home Front Officer: Missile attack would force massive evacuation of Tel Aviv

DEBKAfile Special Report June 12, 2012, 6:18 PM (GMT+02:00)

Tel Aviv

Col. Adam Zusman, Home Front Commander of Israel’s Dan region (Tel Aviv and its environs), told AFP Tuesday, June 12, “In case of a missile attack on the centre of Israel, especially unconventional attacks and if buildings are destroyed, the population from Tel Aviv and other cities will be evacuated and relocated in other areas of the country.

The officer did not say to where the roughly two million inhabitants of the Dan region’s core towns of Tel Aviv, Bat Yam, Holon, Petakh Tikva, Ramat Hasharon, Ramat Gan, Givatayim, Bein Brak, Herzliya, Or Yehuda, Givat Shmuel and Kiryat Ono, would be evacuated. debkafile’s military sources estimate they will be relocated in the southern mostly desert Negev region. The outer Gush Dan ring includes some 3 million people…

This article can be read in full here.   Similar articles can be read here, and this this one has the intriguing title of “Tel Aviv ‘exodus’ planned in event of missile strike”.

So perhaps a future missile or WMD strike against Israel will prompt a mass exodus to the southern Israel Negev desert.  The Negev is less than 20 miles west of Busheira.  At its closest point near Idan, the Israel border is only about 16 miles as the crow flies.  What might prompt a massive crossing of the border by Jews after seeking refuge in the Negev?  Perhaps a redirected attack on these evacuees?  Seeking shelter from fallout or chemical weapons?  Or will they be chased there by pursuing armies of the surrounding nations?  It could even be that knowing God’s Micah 2 promise to rescue them from the “sheep fold” will inspire many to trust Him for a Bozrah breakout.  A more thorough biblical search needs to be done on these possibilities.

The ancient fortress of Busheira is on a mountaintop, standing alone above a canyon dropping toward the desert and Israel – it might be seen as a place of safety, of shelter or of last resort – a fold for lost sheep.

7 Responses to Will flying missiles drive Jews into the Bozrah “Sheep Fold”?

  1. Columnist says:

    Interesting. Will Israel retaliate with missiles?

  2. Kurt J. says:

    I would think so, if they are attacked with missiles. They may even provoke such an attack if they preemptively strike Iran, Syria or Lebanon.

  3. Willard says:

    I have always found the below verse interesting – knowing Israels abilities with cyber warefare and electronic warfare I think the fact the God will blind all of the horses of the nations may be an indication that Israel will have divine protection from much of the potential missile attack

    Zec 12:4 On that day I will strike every horse with panic and its rider with madness,” declares the LORD. “I will keep a watchful eye over the house of Judah, but I will blind all the horses of the nations

    • Kurt J. says:

      Yes, I think you are right about that verse. Check out this one, a few verses later:

      Zech 14:7, “The Lord also will save the tents of Judah first, so that the glory of the house of David and the glory of the inhabitants of Jerusalem will not be magnified above Judah.”

      Tents of Judah are mentioned as being saved first; could this be evacuees taking shelter in the Negev or even Bozrah? It indicates that the Lord, when He comes, will save Judah first, then Israel and Jerusalem, consistent with Isa 63:1 and following.

      I think there will be some damage and destruction in Israel before the Lord returns, for instance:

      “Your holy cities have become a wilderness,

      Zion has become a wilderness,

      Jerusalem a desolation.

      Our holy and beautiful house,

      Where our fathers praised You,

      Has been burned by fire;

      And all our precious things have become a ruin. (Isa 64:10,11)

      Back to Zech 12 – the Messiah comes to their rescue:

      “In that day the Lord will defend the inhabitants of Jerusalem, and the one who is feeble among them in that day will be like David, and the house of David will be like God, like the angel of the Lord before them. And in that day I will set about to destroy all the nations that come against Jerusalem.”

      And they will recognize that Jesus is the Messiah who has returned for them:

      “I will pour out on the house of David and on the inhabitants of Jerusalem, the Spirit of grace and of supplication, so that they will look on Me whom they have pierced; and they will mourn for Him, as one mourns for an only son, and they will weep bitterly over Him like the bitter weeping over a firstborn.”

      But I do see some measure of protection in 12:4, as you do.

  4. iamnotashamedofthegospelofchrist says:

    Very interesting. And very possible. I have a question about Isaiah 63. This has just been rolling around in my head, and I’m trying to find a place for it. Maybe you could help. The Lord say’s he had to battle on his own, there was noone to help him. Do you suppose, that with all the arab spring uprising’s and the stance of do nothing that the world’s governments are taking (syria in particular) that this is prophesied too? I mean could it be that the world is trying to play God and God eventually say’s I will fix it, I will do battle on my own. Of course that in itself brings us to the end battle. I know my question isn’t very well formulated, but maybe you could help me make sense of the senseless. Thanks.

    • Kurt J. says:

      That’s what it seems like to me from Isaiah, Ezekiel & Zechariah:

      Isa 63:4-6: “For the day of vengeance was in My heart,
      And My year of redemption has come.
      5 “I looked, and there was no one to help,
      And I was astonished and there was no one to uphold;
      So My own arm brought salvation to Me,
      And My wrath upheld Me.
      6 “I trod down the peoples in My anger
      And made them drunk in My wrath,
      And I poured out their lifeblood on the earth.”

      Eze 38:18-23: 18 It will come about on that day, when Gog comes against the land of Israel,” declares the Lord God, “that My fury will mount up in My anger. 19 In My zeal and in My blazing wrath I declare that on that day there will surely be a great earthquake in the land of Israel. 20 The fish of the sea, the birds of the heavens, the beasts of the field, all the creeping things that creep on the earth, and all the men who are on the face of the earth will shake at My presence; the mountains also will be thrown down, the steep pathways will collapse and every wall will fall to the ground. 21 I will call for a sword against him on all My mountains,” declares the Lord God. “ Every man’s sword will be against his brother. 22 With pestilence and with blood I will enter into judgment with him; and I will rain on him and on his troops, and on the many peoples who are with him, a torrential rain, with hailstones, fire and brimstone. 23 I will magnify Myself, sanctify Myself, and make Myself known in the sight of many nations; and they will know that I am the Lord.”’

      Zech 12:8-9: 8 In that day the Lord will defend the inhabitants of Jerusalem, and the one who is feeble among them in that day will be like David, and the house of David will be like God, like the angel of the Lord before them. 9 And in that day I will set about to destroy all the nations that come against Jerusalem.

Leave a Reply

