Job 14-16

Job understands that though God brings man “into judgment with (Himself)” and “Who can make the clean out of the unclean? No one!” there is still hope for a resurrection and that God can cover sin:
“If a man dies, will he live again?
All the days of my struggle I will wait
Until my change comes.
“You will call, and I will answer You;
You will long for the work of Your hands.
“For now You number my steps,
You do not observe my sin.
My transgression is sealed up in a bag,
And You wrap up my iniquity.

job-surrender2Eliphaz accuses Job of believing that he has greater access to God than others:

“Do you hear the secret counsel of God,
And limit wisdom to yourself?
“What do you know that we do not know?
What do you understand that we do not?

So far, the book reads like Job has a personal relationship with YHWH, whereas his friends, though wise, do not really know God. Job has a desperate need for God whereas his friends are just satisfied with divine favor and blessing:

“My friends are my scoffers;
My eye weeps to God.
“O that a man might plead with God
As a man with his neighbor!
Leave a Reply

