Job 38-42

god-jobFinally its God’s turn to question Job…

Ch 38: YHWH asks “Where were you when I laid the foundation of the earth? Have you entered the springs of the sea, the dwelling of light or lead forth a constellation of stars?”

Ch 39: God asks Job about nature–did you set the donkey free? Give the ox his strength? Watched deer calve young? Instruct the hawk on soaring techniques?

Ch 40:  God: Are you going to find fault with me?
Job: I am insignificant; what can I reply to You?
God: I made behemoth (sure sounds like a dinosaur), can you lead him around by the nose?

Ch 41:  God: I made leviathan (sure sounds like a dragon, including fire-breathing, vss 18-21), are you going to pierce his armor?

Ch 42:  Job: I know you can do all things; I know you much better now; I’ll shut up
God is not happy with Job’s three older friends, He has them sacrifice and allow Job to pray for them. God doesn’t address the younger questioner of Job (Elihu), Perhaps this is evidence of an “age of accountability”, or perhaps it is another Personage, like the fourth person in the furnace with Shadrach, Meshach and Abed-nego (Dan 3:25)?

The book concludes with YHWH again blessing Job with much wealth, 7 sevens and 3 daughters, and 140 more years.

Leave a Reply

